30 July 2009

The Justice League: A Super Friendly Tour (Part 13)

Justice League

In 2001, the Justice League reassembled. The animated series consisted of 52 mostly multi-part episodes giving the series an epic feel absent in previous "Friends" iterations. This time, the team had a 7 member core composed of Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Flash, Green Lantern John Stewart, The Martian Manhunter, and Hawkgirl.

The series opened with a three-parter presenting the team's formation to battle alien invaders. Actually, the series also ended with a three-parter where the League also fended off alien invaders- though this time the invaders were from the Hawk World forcing long time Leaguer Hawkgirl to choose a side. I guess the League did spend a lot of time fighting aliens.

In between invasions, episodes featured guest heroes including Aquaman, Etrigan the Demon, Metamorpho, The Green Lantern Corps, and Dr. Fate who joined the League to fend off such threats as Darkseid, AMAZO, Dr Destiny, Gorilla Grodd, Solomon Grundy, Mongul, Morgaine le Faye, Felix Faust, and villainous teams including the Royal Flush Gang, the Justice Lords, the Injustice Gang, and the Secret Society. Oh, and they fought some other aliens too.

This incarnation of the League also starred in a crossover on the Static Shock series titled A League of Their Own, where they helped to defeat Brainiac. Static would return the favor by guest starring in the next Justice League series.

The show aired until 2004 when it was decided that 7 members just wasn't enough, and the League roster should be "Unlimited."

: On DVD

Up Next: Justice League Unlimited

No comments:

Post a Comment